Larkins in the Ukraine


Ukrainian Larkin Families:

Paul Goldschmidt's Dictionary of Period Russian Names - Section L

Copyright (c) 1996 Paul Goldschmidt.

·         Larka (m) -- Larka Oksenov syn Kopyl, hunter. 1622. [Tup 195]

o    Patronymics: Larkin (Rusak Larkin). 1495. [Tup 342]

The Russian Larkin families seem to have begun their eastern odyssey after arriving in Samara during the 17th century as Wild Geese. Part of their dispersion took them Southwards into nearby Ukraine, where several different Larkin families now live.





Rivne Oblast (Ukrainian: Рівненська область, translit. Rivnens’ka oblast’; also referred to as Rivnenshchyna - Ukrainian: Рівненщина) is an oblast (province) of Ukraine. Its administrative centre is Rivne. The area of the region is 20,100 km˛; its population (as of 2004-05-01) is 1.2 million. A nuclear power plant is located in the oblast. The following historic-cultural sites were nominated for the Seven Wonders of Ukraine.
• Ostroh Castle
• Troitsk monastery (Korec)
• Dubno Castle

The Rivne Oblast was created as part of the Ukrainian Soviet Socialist Republic on December 4, 1939. The Rivne Oblast is administratively subdivided into 16 raions (districts) as well as 4 cities (municipalities) which are directly subordinate to the oblast government: Dubno, Kuznetsovsk, Ostroh, and the administrative centre of the oblast, Rivne. Historic Ostroh City is home to several Larkin families.

Khmelnytskyi Oblast:  

Khmelnytskyi Oblast (Ukrainian: Хмельницька область, translit. Khmel’nyts’ka oblast’) is an oblast (province) of western Ukraine. The administrative centre of the oblast is the city of Khmelnytskyi.  The current estimated population is around 1,401,140 (as of 2004).Khmelnytskyi Oblast has a total area of 20,600 km˛ (3.4% of the total area of Ukraine) is located between 48°27' and 50°37' north latitude and between 26°09' and 27°56' east longitude. It is 220 km long when measured from north to south, and is 120 km in length when measured from east to west. The oblast borders the Rivne Oblast to the northwest, the Zhytomyr Oblast to the northeast, the Vinnytsia Oblast to the east, the Chernivtsi Oblast to the south, and the Ternopil Oblast to the west. There are several Larkin families in the area of Dunajevzy City.



Dnipropetrovsk Oblast (Ukrainian: Дніпропетровська область, Dnipropetrovs’ka oblast’ or Дніпропетровщина, Dnipropetrovshchyna) is an oblast (province) of central Ukraine, the most important industrial region of the country. Its administrative centre is Dnipropetrovsk. Important cities within the oblast include: Dnipropetrovsk, Kryvyi Rih, Dniprodzerzhynsk, Nikopol. The Dnipropetrovsk Oblast is located in southeastern Ukraine. The area of the oblast' (31,900 km˛), comprises about 5.3% of the total area of the country. Its longitude from north to south is 130 km, from east to west – 300 km. The oblast' borders the Poltava and Kharkiv Oblast's on the north, the Donetsk Oblast on the east, the Zaporizhzhia and Kherson Oblast's on the south, and the Mykolayiv and Kirovohrad Oblast's on the west. Dnepropetrovsk city is now home to a number of Larkin families.



The Autonomous Republic of Crimea (Ukrainian: Крим, Автономна Республіка Крим, Avtonomna Respublika Krym; is an autonomous republic of Ukraine located on the northern coast of the Black Sea, occupying a peninsula of the same name. The territory of Crimea was conquered and controlled many times throughout its history. The Cimmerians, Greeks, Persians (Iranians), Goths, Huns, Bulgars, Khazars, the state of Kievan Rus', Byzantine Greeks, Kipchaks, and the Mongols all controlled Crimea in its early history. In the 13th century it was partly controlled by the Venetians and by the Genoese; these were followed by the Crimean Khanate and Ottoman Empire in the 15th–18th centuries, the Russian Empire in the 18th–20th centuries, the Russian SFSR and later Ukrainian SSR within Soviet Union in the rest of 20th century, Germany in World War II, and now, the independent Ukrainian state. Crimea is a parliamentary republic which is governed by the Constitution of Crimea in accordance with the laws of Ukraine. The capital and administrative seat of the republic's government is the city of Simferopol, located in the centre of the peninsula. Crimea's total area is 26,200 square kilometres (10,100 sq mi). As of 2007, Crimea has a population of 1,973,185 inhabitants. The city of Gorlovka is home to a number of Larkin families.


Copyright © 2008 Pádraic Ó Lorcáin. All rights reserved.
Revised: 28 Jan 2009 15:51:09.

Return to Home Page here: